Coco-N Inspiration prototype

When I heard from a dear friend that a new high-end wrap company were to appear soon and they’re looking for testers, I was quite excited. I must admit I’m buying and selling wraps more than I’m supposed to, always looking for “the one”, who would be beautiful, supportive and feed my hunger for precious fibers. So, of course, I applied for a tester spot, browsing in the meantime over their Facebook page and chatter.

The wrap

The prototype I was sent was a surprise until it’s arrival. I already had a few

img_4695
Nice message

favourites from the designs revealed on their business page and facebook page. Well, this one was a total surprise: Inspiration prototype in a size 5. I had seen glimpses of this design in a naming contest on the chatter group, but didn’t pay much attention, being so absorbed with the other patterns.

It’s a written wrap 🙂 with red words in multiple languages and alphabets out on a silver background. I admit I would have loved it to be the other way around (silver on red), but the effect is beautiful the way it is. I’m more drawn to geometric patterns, but this one left a good first impression. The blend is 65% Egyptian long-staple cotton and 35% mulberry silk, and pre-wash it measured 4.55 meters long and 0.67 meters wide, with a weight of 335 gsm (more or less). After wash it shrank a bit, coming closer to a size 5.

The carries

This wrap was tested on nursery runs and IKEA trips. Ah, and convincing the toddler to sleep, so totally not glamorous situations. But that’s how you test it for real, right?

My favourite carry is a ruck with all it’s variations, so this one was used the most, with TIF and Tibetan finishes. Then, a normal DH and a candy cane chest belt DH, and finally, a FWCC strongly requested by Horia who was in need of cuddles on a cold windy day.

All these with a 12.5 kg wiggly wrappee.

img_4827
IKEA love 🙂

The impressions

Inspiration is a very supportive thicker wrap, which has a very nice bounce that you wouldn’t expect from a silk blend. After a wash it softened even more, and it became a cushy, mouldable, almost spongy piece of fabric, that has the beautiful glide and shine of the mulberry silk. It ties into a medium knot, passes glide without effort, but for the ruck-lover in me it really shines in single pass carries: it’s supportive enough, and perfectly mouldable. It made the comfiest FWCC in ages (and I use the non-reinforced version). Definitely a toddler proof wrap, I think it shines better on heavier kids, but not excluding newborns if the wrapper is not on the first wrap job.

fullsizerender
MOM chestbelt

It has flipped rails, so in theory you can wear it on either side – but on the red one the words are flipped too. If you don’t mind that, you can have two very different looks in the same wrap:  matte red or shiny silver. Middle markers are small and elegant, and the whole composition gives you the feel of quality work.

Care

Like all silk blends, Inspiration must be washed by hand in lukewarm water and laid flat to dry, out of the sun. Some might see this as complicated; I wash all of my wraps by hand, easycare or not, and I find it relaxing.

Conclusion

A good all-rounder, single and multi layer, for babies and toddlers alike. Not my first choice for an absolute beginner, but easy to work with; and packed with a nice message. Definitely give it a try.

More pics below:

img_4808

img_4736

img_4838

img_4694

img_4837

img_4744

img_4836
MOM power. Right? Right.

Leave a comment